Spike and Wes-Parellels (Part 2)

*Spoilers for both shows*

Parents

Spike and Wes had different relationships with one of their parents. Spike had a good relationship with his mother, whereas Wes had a complicated one with his father.

In season seven of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” the audience found out when Spike was a human he had a very good relationship with his mother, who around the time of his siring was ill. Once he was sired he still held love and affection for her and made the decision to turn her into a vampire so she could be well again.

*Note* Sire = Vampire who turns a human into a vampire, Siring = Being turned into a vampire

Sadly, this turn of events did not end well for Spike. Once his mother was a vampire she started to make sexual implications towards him, stating no woman would compare to her.

Due to this, Spike had no choice but to stake his mother, which haunted him until he came to terms with it at the end of the “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” season seven episode, “Lies My Parents Told Me.” This was the second flashback episode where Spike’s past as a human was shown.

Wes had a somewhat complicated relationship with his father. He became a watcher because of him and would try very hard not to disappoint him.

In season five of “Angel,” Wes’ father visited Wolfram and Hart where Wes and the rest of Angel’s gang worked, giving the audience the chance to see what type of relationship the two had. Throughout the episode Wes tried to show his dad how far he has come and attempt to impress him, but to no avail.

However, things go wrong and Fred (Wes’ love interest) is held captive by the man.When she was threatened to be killed by Wes’ father, Wes did not hesitate to shoot and kill him on the spot.

As it turns out, the man was not Wes’ father, but rather a robot. Wes called his real father at the end of the episode to make sure he was alive, which he was.

I really wish Spike and Wes had talked more, especially in this episode of “Angel” because robot or not, Wes did think he killed his father and Spike actually did kill his mother. They could have talked about these topics, but when Spike brought it up, he made it sound too casual and Wes ignored him.

Relationships

Spike and Wes did not have very many relationships, but had one thing in common, one of those was just to fill a void.

Spike had three relationships in “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” with Drusilla, who was his sire, Harmony and Buffy.

Spike was with Drusilla for over 100 years until she had repeatedly broken

1Spike-Drusilla-spike-and-drusilla-2612032-640-480

Spike and Drusilla

up with him. The first time it happened in season three, Spike went back to Sunnydale (where BTVS takes place) and was depressed. When he had the chance to be with her for the last time, she left because of his feelings for Buffy.

Drusilla had broken up with Spike the last few times because due to her physic abilities, she could see he was in love with Buffy. It was shown in a flashback episode in season five of BTVS that Spike had developed feelings for the slayer after their team up in season two.

 

spike-and-harmony

Spike and Harmony

Spike started a relationship with the newly turned vampire, Harmony between season three and four of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” They broke up for a time because Spike was abusive towards her and she was trying to be her own woman. They got back together in season five until she broke it off for good. They reunited in “Angel,” but did not reconcile.

When the two were together in the fifth season, Spike would often make Harmony dress as Buffy, which grossed me out to no end.

Spike realized his feelings for Buffy in the fifth season of “Buffy the quote-he-spike-probably-fell-in-love-with-buffy-when-he-first-saw-her-but-didn-t-admit-it-to-himself-james-marsters-250620Vampire Slayer” and those feelings stayed with him throughout the rest of the show and afterwards on “Angel.” They are my favorite couple in BTVS and a lot of that had to do with the seventh season, as well as James Marsters’ acting.

Spike and Buffy AKA “Spuffy” were one of the most popular couples in “Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” Buffy was the main reason for Spike becoming a better man. He loved her with everything he had, with and without his soul.

Unfortunately for Spike, once he discovered his feelings for Buffy, he had to watch her date another man named Riley, who she began dating in season four. Spike succeeded in breaking them up in the fifth season when he caught Riley practically cheating on Buffy.

The two got together in season six, however Buffy was depressed and Spike, still lacking a soul, let her use him. They had a very abusive and destructive relationship until Buffy broke it off at nearly the end of the season.

The breakup led Spike to feel depressed himself and caused him to make the wrong decisions. Eventually, Spike went to Africa to get his soul at the end of season six after feeling guilty and shocked at his attempt to rape Buffy.

Let me clarify, I HATED the Buffy/Spike “relationship” in season six and did not like that the writers of the show had to make Spike nearly rape Buffy to make him want to get his soul. I am a hardcore “Spuffy” fan and even I can admit that it was disturbing. Like I said before, the main reason why I loved them had to do with the last season of “Buffy.”

Once Spike received his soul, he went back to Sunnydale between season

Unknown

Spike and Buffy

six and seven. When Buffy learned Spike got his soul back the two began to get on better terms. She believed he could be a better man and he stood by her when no one else did.

Spike: I’ve been alive a bit longer than you, and dead a lot longer than that. I’ve seen things you couldn’t imagine, and done things I’d prefer you didn’t. I don’t exactly have a reputation for being a thinker; I follow my blood, which doesn’t exactly rush in the direction of my brain. So I make a lot of mistakes. A lot of wrong bloody calls. A hundred plus years, and there’s only one thing I’ve ever been sure of. You. Hey, look at me. I’m not asking you for anything. When I say I love you, it’s not because I want you, or because I can’t have you – it has nothing to do with me. I love what you are, what you do, how you try… I’ve seen your kindness, and your strength, I’ve seen the best and the worst of you and I understand with perfect clarity exactly what you are. You’re a hell of a woman. You’re the one, Buffy.

(Credit: IMBD)

It was not until nearly the end of the season when it seemed like the two were going to get back together. Unfortunately, the two were not able to until season 10 in the BTVS comics.

Wes was in two relationships in “Angel” with Lilah and Fred.

Wes and Lilah were the relationship the audience might have saw coming. I saw it coming, but tried to deny it until it happened.

At the time of the relationship, Wes was going through his dark path and

24

Wes and Lilah

was in love with Fred. While he cared for Lilah, he did not love her. Like Spike with Harmony, he was using her to fill the void since he could not be with Fred, or so I believe.

Lilah is my least favorite character in “Angel” and I did not like her with Wes.

Wes and Fred were the most tragic couple on “Angel.” They were together

Angel-Wesley-Fred-lab

Wes and Fred

for one episode and I will never get over them. *Sheldon voice* Whedon!

Like Spike with Buffy and Riley, Wes had to watch Fred be in a relationship with one of their friends and teammates, Gunn and then a fellow scientist named Knox. Watching Fred be with other men hurt Wes to no end.

When Fred and Wes finally got together, Fred became sick because of a goddess taking over her body, causing her to die.

Winifred ‘Fred’ Burkle: Would you have loved me?
Wesley Wyndam-Pryce: I’ve loved you since I’ve known you. No, that’s not-I think maybe even before.
Winifred ‘Fred’ Burkle: I’m so sorry.
Wesley Wyndam-Pryce: No, no, no.
Winifred ‘Fred’ Burkle: I need you to talk to my parents. Th-they have to know I wasn’t scared, th-that it was quick. That I wasn’t scared. Oh, God.
Wesley Wyndam-Pryce: You have to fight. You don’t have to talk, just concentrate on fighting. Just hold on.
Winifred ‘Fred’ Burkle: I’m not scared. I’m not scared. I’m not scared. Please, Wesley. Why can’t I stay?

(Credit IMBD)

The two were a couple for a limited amount of time and in my opinion, were the most tragic couple in the “Buffyverse.” Sorry Buffy, but killing a newly ensouled Angel does not compare to losing your beloved after just getting together and finally being happy.

To be continued in “Spike and Wes-Parrellels (Part 3)”

19 thoughts on “Spike and Wes-Parellels (Part 2)

  1. Spike had a rather unhealthy relationship with his mother before he vamped up and turned her because he wanted to stay with her – he was a Mama’s boy – and Drusila was really her replacement. Wes had the idolize Father but fall short of expectations Daddy issues

Leave a Reply

