You Are Enough

It was a day that started out like any other. Woke up, got ready for the day and ate breakfast. The only difference is I was wearing my “You are enough” shirt.

“You are enough” is part of a popular saying from the Broadway and West End actress Sierra Boggess. This woman is my role model. She is always positive on Twitter, her CD “Awakening” is inspiring and seems to have a great outlook on life, which she shares with her fans.

Since I first discovered Boggess’ words, “You are enough. You are so enough, it’s unbelievable how enough you are,” I have written the words on my journal, my agenda and anywhere else I can. The words are a reminder to me that I AM enough.

Boggess announced September 2015 that she was putting the quote on shirts and selling them. The money would go to the Humane Society, which is something she is very passionate about.

I was told on my birthday that the shirt would arrive and I received it a week later. I wore it for the first time almost a week after I got it. I took a photo of myself with the shirt on and posted it on three of my social media sites.

12072603_1071893352822509_6377345247662951020_n

Me wearing the shirt

What I was not expecting was the positive feedback I would receive from a few of my friends and family members about the shirt. One person commented that she wanted one and another said this was just the message she needed. My dad saved the picture I took and posted it on one of his social media accounts with his own caption and adding the hashtag, “youareenough.”

Mainly, I think people just liked the words on the shirt. I do not blame them, it is a good message, for anyone.

While no one came up to me personally about my top, it is nice to help get the message across. My hope when I wear the shirt is to tell people they ARE enough.

“You are enough. You are so enough, it’s unbelievable how enough you are.” -Sierra Boggess

tumblr_static_tumblr_static__640

Sierra Boggess. Photo from internet

Leave a Reply

