Are Ramin Karimloo and Sierra Boggess overrated?

IMG_0069

Ramin Karimloo as Phantom, Sierra Boggess as Christine

Some theater actors and actresses have become overrated over the past few months. Namely Ramin Karimloo, Sierra Boggess and probably a few others I do not know about or just have not named. Both Boggess and Karimloo started as understudies and now they are two of the biggest names on Broadway and the West End.

Ramin and Sierra, AKA “Rierra,” have become somewhat overrated lately. Both have starred together in “Love Never Dies” on West End in London and the “Phantom of the Opera” 25th anniversary on DVD, which is where they started rising to fame.

Boggess got her Broadway debut in “The Little Mermaid” with current Broadway Phantom, Norm Lewis. Since then she has become more well known and therefore has gained a fandom, that even the fans get a little tired of. The non-fans might say she is overrated, especially as Christine Daae. Some might say she is the best Christine to take the stage. Well, that is a little too much. She is a great Christine, and one of my favorites, but there have been others before and after her, who have been equally good. I am a big Sierra fan, but not just because of her voice and acting abilities. Because she is an inspiration to me as a person, or at least from her Twitter, and her positivity especially in “Daae Days.”

Karimloo has the same problem, but with more screaming fans, mainly female. He is an attractive man with an incredible voice to match. Some would say he is an amazing Phantom, ok agreed. He is an incredible Jean Valjean, agreed. But he is not the only one to have portrayed the role, just like with Sierra as Christine. Some fans will say he is the best Enjolras, because of the 25th anniversary of “Les Mis” on DVD. Well, there have been others before and after him that have been great as well. If you are going to see “Les Mis” on Broadway just because he is in it, watch the “Good Morning America” clip, because the entire cast is mind blowing. I will admit I wanted to see “Les Mis” on Broadway because he was in it, but after I watched the “Good Morning America” clip, the entire cast won me over. I saw it in New York and was in absolute awe at the cast. Granted, Karimloo was my favorite, but because he just became the role. I am a Ramin fan as well; he is a fantastic actor and is very nice in person.

I cannot explain why these two are so amazing, but just because they are fantastic in one role, does not mean that they are the only ones in the musical, or the only people to have portrayed the role. Is Karimloo better than Michael Crawford? I do not think so, but he is better than Cooper Grodin (any “Phan” will tell you that). Is he better than Hugh Panaro, well that is your opinion.

Boggess is not the only actress to have portrayed Christine Daae. There have been many others before and after her. Is she better than Sarah Brightman? Some would say yes and some would say no. Is she better than Julia Udine? Well that is, once again, your opinion.

Both, Karimloo and Boggess have worked hard to get where they are and I am not trying to bash them in any way, I am just stating what some fans have been thinking for a while and saying on social media. They are great actors, but they have a giant fandom, which makes them seem overrated at some points. I am NOT blaming the fandom. Once again I am a fan of both as well. I have met Ramin Karimloo, and Sierra Boggess is my idol, but I do like to keep in mind that other actors are equally amazing in the roles that both have portrayed.

13 thoughts on “Are Ramin Karimloo and Sierra Boggess overrated?

  1. I find this entire article hypocritical. I am a fan of both Ramin an Sierra, and don’t think that they are at all over rated. The whole point is that every one has their own opinion, and you can’t really say that they are overrated. Ramin is my favourite phantom and Sierra is my favourite Christine. By saying they are overrated is like shitting on my, and many other people’s idols.

  2. Maybe overrated is the wrong choice of words here? Just suggesting. Overrated to me means they are not as good as the people think they are. But these two are as good. That doesn’t mean that they are the only valid interpretation and they would be the first two to acknowledge that. Ramin is my favourite Phantom, because in the 25th anniversary production, in the scene when Christine kisses him at the end, he conveys the hurt so realistically…no other Phantom that I have seen managed this. Does that mean he is the only one? No, probably not. But overrated just strikes me as the wrong word here.

    You wrote: “Some might say she is the best Christine to take the stage. Well, that is a little too much. She is a great Christine, and one of my favorites, but there have been others before and after her, who have been equally good.”

    Well, that is a matter of opinion, isn’t it? To you she might be one of the best, to others the best, to others again one among many.

    I hope you know what I am trying to explain. They are – to men – by no means overrated, but I agree that there is no such thing as “The Universal One”. To each their own 🙂

    • Good points and great explanation as to why Ramin is your favorite Phantom.
      From what I have witnessed, it has gotten to the point where people on the YouTube comment section compare them to almost every other Phantom and Christine, which is not fair to the other actors and actresses portraying the role(s). As I have stated before, I am a huge fan of both, but I have witnessed a few things over the years and this was my way of ranting. Thank you for your input, I appreciate it. 🙂

  3. I think the key reason why a lot of people think Ramin has been the best-ever Enjolras is that he was singing along side the worst-ever Marius.

    • That could be true. Another reason might be because it is easier to get the 25th anniversary production than to see the stage version.
      I’m not a big fan of Jones’ portrayal of Marius, he was not ready to take on that role. They should have gone with Gareth Gates or anyone else. I felt like Katie Hall was holding back and everyone else was drowning Jonas out. It’s a great production, but my main complaint will always be that they cast him.

      • Agree. I suppose most audience will complain about Jonas in O2.

        Anyway musical is theater art, judging an artist or a part through one performance is not its rule.
        However we do need to admit that most people can only access those DVD productions. Probably that’s a challenge, as well as a chance for the industry.

        After Karimloo’s success portrayal of Valjean, take a look on his career, I think it is fair to say that Wilkinson’s comment on him in Toronto is not flattery. He will be rated alongside names like Wilkinson (and he has even more success in the role of Phantom).

      • Good points. Sometimes I feel like Earl Carpenter is an underrated Phantom, same with John Owen-Jones, in the US anyway.
        Two people who seem to be currently equal to Ramin as JVJ are Alfie Boe and JOJ, but I feel like people forget about them. I have the 10th anniversary of “Les Misérables” on DVD and Colm is majestic. I loved that he was in the 2012 movie.
        As for Enjolras, I saw Jason Forbach (US tour) and Kyle Baptise (?) (Broadway). Both were amazing and brought something different to the character.
        Ramin is a great actor (one of my favorites) and is very nice in person. I have no doubt he’ll go farther in his career than he already has.

      • Well, probably JOJ just need a chance to be on a world-wide broadcast to earn his fame.

        Alfie Boe’s JVJ in O2 is my favorite. I always believe that JVJ and Javert do not need to look that ugly as Colm and PQ. Colm and PQ have both been fantastic, but I feel AB and Norm Lewis both have some advantages over them in O2.

      • I am also a fan of their The Confrontation. Their power is amazing and fascinating, but their parts are both way beyond power. Norm’s Stars is powerful, more importantly is the righteousness in his performance (and figure), which is really new but attractive in Javert. And for Alfie, his Bring Him Home has such peacefulness that sounds like an anthem, which I feel is the spirit of the song, even a little better than Colm’s most performances in that aspect.

      • The 25th anniversary was my introduction to “Les Mis” and it was Norm’s version of “Stars” that made me realize Javert is a man doing what he thinks is right. He had the perfect voice for it and gave a topnotch performance.
        Alfie’s “Bring Him Home” is beautiful and made me realize how much vocal power is needed to play the character. He sing it with so much emotion. It’s impossible not to love his JVJ.

Leave a Reply

